Click Here to Not Feel Like a Wally

So I’m booking tickets to and from Brussels on AerLingus.com and Ryanair.com (we can take our time coming back via Charleroi, but need to be City Centre quickly for a business meeting on the way in). I book away nicely on Aer Lingus, even get to pay to choose emergency exit seats (Robert is coming along for this meeting and he’s over 6 foot 7), until I get to the confirmation page. How I managed to miss the Click Here to Remove Insurance option, I really can’t imagine. Except that most everything else on the page is Click Here to Include and the Click to Remove instruction is buried in the middle of 6 bullet points of text.

Only 10 Euros, I can afford it, but man, did I ever feel ripped off. In comes the e-mail confirmation from the insurance company with the policy. It tells me explicitly to ring them on a particular number if I need to cancel the insurance. Monday-Friday, 9 am to 5 pm. Just to make myself feel better, I rang them this morning. 20 Minutes on hold only to then be told by the operator that any cancellations must be received by e-mail. Ya Wha?

Now that just makes me cry.

Leave a comment